How do you judge quality?

Do you judge it based on a product or service’s offerings. Do you judge it based on design or ease of use? The answer for most people is “yes” to all of the above.

But let’s not forget about price. Price can be the biggest factor in determining a product or service’s quality. Instead of being seen as cost-effective, a low price can give the impression of being worthless or not top quality. However, a high price almost always gives the impression of top quality.

Seth reminds us of this in his post:

“Wineries understand that the pricing of a bottle of wine is more important than its label or the wine inside. The price is the first thing that most people consider when they order or shop for wine.”

2 Responses to “How do you judge quality?”


  1. 1 Katie June 4, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    I am guilty of assuming price reflects quality. Especially when I’m grocery shopping. I assume that name brand and higher prices will be better then store brand just the way I convince myself that the $4 cup of Starbucks coffee is a deal. I think that when a price is higher it communicates to the consumer that more money was put into manufacturing it, therefore they need to charge higher prices to make the same profit as other product so they can continue to put the same high quality into their product.

  2. 2 Florentina March 19, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    Great site you have here but I was curious if you knew of any discussion boards that cover
    the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get advice from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thank you!


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

