Technorati becomes irrelevant

First, an apology. I’m sorry for the lack of updates to this blog. I’ve been focusing on work and consulting on other blogs. But I’m slowly starting to get back into the swing of things. Thanks for your patience!

Now on to the topic of this post.

Technorati has become irrelevant. Why? Because of spam. It’s true. According to Technoratie founder David Sifry, spam blogs account for over 99% of all the updates they get.

How did this happen? How can the once giant, #1 search engine for blogs become this way?

The 1st sign of this happened back when Technorati decided to include MySpace blogs in their search results. This was a bad move because it severly hurt the number of relevant search results. Instead of returning quality posts, you got useless tripe from 13 year old girls and college boys. The 2nd, and perhaps biggest blow, was when Technorati started to include Twitter posts in its search results. Now you got even more useless tripe!

As a result of these terrible decisions, Technorati has now become a search engine for spam not relevant thoughts on topics.

It all goes back to that basic marketing rule; focus on your core audience, not on everyone. By trying to appeal to a larger crowd (everyone) instead of its core (quality bloggers, the ones that are pushing the medium forward) they have become irrelevant.

6 Responses to “Technorati becomes irrelevant”


  1. 1 Ben Bacon January 24, 2008 at 11:03 am

    So who is the new #1 in blog search engines?

  2. 2 Michael Morton January 24, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Google Blog Search is the new champ. That shouldn’t surprise anyone. While Technorati was busy wasting it’s time trying to get MORE content, Google did what it does best – they focused on RELEVANT content.

  3. 3 Lindy Dreyer January 29, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only one down on Technorati. I’ve been a little gun shy about telling the world how useless the search engine has become. Now I’ll sing like a canary.

    Thanks.

  4. 4 Michael Morton January 29, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    You and I aren’t the only ones Lindy.

    Sing away!

  5. 5 John from thedisneyblog.com January 29, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Google BlogSearch may be the new #1, but there are considerably fewer bells and whistles, AND (and its an important and) they’re just a spam infected as Technorati. I always have to search with -.info and -.blogspot.com to get good results on Google BlogSearch. Finally, I find that it’s not picking up a lot of the links that are coming to my website that do show up on Technorati, but aren’t spam.


  1. 1 Goodness Gracious, Great Blogs of Fire! » The Buzz Bin Trackback on January 29, 2008 at 12:27 am
Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

