Is Technorati Right?

A new Gallop poll suggests that Americans may not be as interested in blogs as we once believed. I found this interesting tidbit of information in the MarketingVox newsletter. The poll shows that 66 percent of Americans do not read blogs. Read the article in its entirety here.

The findings of Technorati and of the Gallop poll beg for certain questions to be answered. One such question could be, “How were the findings of both studies compiled?”. Another that I am particularly interested in is this, “Does Technorati have anything to gain by skewing the data?”.

Now, I am not accusing Technorati of any wrong doing. I just think we should be cautious. I have seen a lot of posts about how blogging is skyrocketing. Maybe we should find evidence of that fact and be able to back it up with concrete numbers.

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions






