Prospect Communications

I am probably preaching to the choir but I cannot emphasize enough the importance of communication. This not only applies to a company’s current customers, but to it’s prospective clients as well. This seems perfectly logical, I am sure, to both you and me. The trick, as I am now learning, is convincing upper management. Let me give a quick rundown of what I am trying to accomplish.

Right now, I am trying to figure out how to expand my company’s communication strategy with prospects that visit our website. One of the obvious ways to do this would be to use a newsletter designed specifically for prospects. There are many benefits of creating a prospect newsletter. These benefits include:

  • Capturing prospects that may not be ready to take other actions, such as a purchase or directly contacting the company
  • Building a relationship leading to future sales and other desired actions
  • Presenting viral marketing and word-of-mouth marketing opportunities
  • Driving traffic to the company website
  • Serving as a sales piece and support for sales team

Obviously, the content of the newsletter will have to appeal to the prospects. The content must include the following:

  • How can our service help the prospect
  • Proof that our service is fast and efficient
  • We offer more for our prospects’ money than our competitors (without specifically mentioning our competitors)
  • Case studies and customer profiles
  • That our company has an excellent reputation and is stable
  • Describe our fast and friendly customer service

The next challenge is to get prospects to sign up for the newsletter. I figure the best way to accomplish this would be to:

  • Prominently place a link on our homepage
  • Include a link in the signature portion of our outgoing customer support and sales emails
  • Put a link on our “Contact Us” page
  • Have customer support ask callers if they would like to receive the newsletter

Now, I have to somehow get upper management to see the value in this plan. Does anyone out there have any suggestions? I would love to hear them!

Tags: , , ,

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

