Email Marketing Best Practices Exist, Not Used

According to a recent study completed by Multichannel Merchant and Direct magazines, 61 percent of business-to-business marketers have formal permission practices for collecting email addresses, while 93 percent of consumer marketers say they have formal practices in place, eMarketer reports (via MediaBuyerPlanner). Sixty percent of the consumer marketers surveyed reported using a single opt-in method of gathering email addresses, while 7 percent used a double opt-in method. Of the business marketers surveyed, 26 percent used single opt-in methods, and just three percent used the double opt-in method.

I found this interesting tidbit of information in the MarketingVOX newsletter. What is the point of having best practices if we do not use them? That’s like buying a house but not living in it!

Tags: , , ,

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

