I’ve Been Quoted!

Good news! I have received my first quote in another person’s blog. I feel special, like I have won an Academy Award. So here is my acceptance speech:

Quite frankly, I’m astonished. I never thought this day would come. There are so many people to thank! I would like to thank Lauren Vargas for quoting me in her blog Communicators Anonymous. It is a real honor to have been chosen. I would also like to thank the blogosphere without which none of this would have been possible. Thanks to my Mom, Dad and my friends for supporting me! Oh, I almost forgot! I want to thank David Meerman Scott for inspiring me to write my opposing view on the function of a press release. Thank you all so much!

On a more serious note, I do want to thank Lauren for speaking her mind (that is what a blog is all about right?). I enjoy hearing all sides of an issue. It allows me to grow as a professional.

Do I believe in this PR/Web 2.0 thing? Sure I do, but only time holds the answer. However, I do hold my belief that if we are to issue press releases directly to consumers, we should not call them press release. Press releases go to the press. Perhaps we could call direct to consumer releases fact sheets… Novel idea, right? (Did you catch my sarcasm?)

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “I’ve Been Quoted!”


  1. 1 Lauren Vargas April 6, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    Congrats!

    By the way, did you read my original post? I call it a news release not a press release…don’t group me in with the general crowd.

    Good luck and keep publishing…all of us have a lot to learn.

  2. 2 Michael Morton April 6, 2006 at 7:08 pm

    Sorry Lauren. My comment, about not calling it a press release, was not directed at you. It was directed at Mr. Scott (and others) who refers to it as a press release in his white paper. I guess I should have clarified that.

    Thanks again!


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions






