Googleopoly?

I originally came across this in the on MarketingVOX site. However, Mike Sacks wrote an interesting post on the Forward blog. Read it here.

Google and Earthlink have teamed up to provide the city of San Francisco with free WiFi access. To offset the costs, Google plans to sell advertising space to local businesses. Anyone surprised?

Personally, I think this is a great idea. I mean a city filled with absolutely free internet service. Imagine the possibilities. Need to find a nearby bakery while taking a taxi? Bam! Google will show you all the bakeries in the immediate area. Also, you could always have access to your email account, online social network and your World of Warcraft alter-ego. In short, whatever tickles your fancy. All this available at no cost to you!

However, I bet ISPs are very upset at this news. Think about it. How many people are going to be willing to shell out between $40 and $70 dollars a month, when they can get highspeed Internet for free?

Tags: , , ,

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





Today’s Top Posts

My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

