It’s This Type of Garbage That Makes Me Mad!

Have you seen the Dodge commercial with the little fairy? I did and I thought it was hilarious. But, as usual, someone has been offended by it. Read Bob Garfield’s review of the ad at AdAge.com.

I am completely dumbfounded by his comments. I hate the fact that we live in a society that tries to make everything “hate speech.” So now we cannot show preppy, white men in commercials because someone will get offended.

This is completely ridiculous! Garfield’s review is an example of political correctness going too far!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “It’s This Type of Garbage That Makes Me Mad!”


  1. 1 Flackette April 18, 2006 at 9:00 pm

    Wow, I read this article and was astonished. This guy is really grasping for a reason to hate this spot if he is trying to make us think the ad is somehow negatively targeting the gay community. I actually chuckled when I saw this ad and thought it was humurous and really got the point across. If anything Bob should be defending the concept of “cuteness,” as that was the only thing being targeted in this ad.

    What a shame that some people have to create such dissension over nothing.

  2. 2 Michael Morton April 19, 2006 at 12:47 pm

    As communicators, I think we should consider how an advertisement will come across to our constituencies. We should always look for ways that we might unintentionally offend a group of people. But Mr. Garfield’s claim is so utterly ridiculous…


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

