Public Relations Inspiration

I came across a very inspiring post at the Creative Concepts blog. Valorie Luthor has definitely pinpointed the type of attitude that defines a great public relations professional. The great thing is that this attitude can be applied to everyone, not just public relations employees. Read the entire post by clicking here. Below, I have posted an excerpt of the part that motivated me. Thank you for this Valorie.

Successful people and businesses never turn away from their responsibilities. Beyond not turning away from their responsibilities, they go above and beyond to complete their job and help others so the whole organization succeeds. There is no place for defensiveness, for the words “”I can’’t do it” or the word ““no.”” It’’s about jumping in and doing no matter how fearful you are, no matter how many times people say no… just do it.

One day the hard working people with the service first business will succeed. The employees with the best attitudes, the true team players who also think out of the box will be able to walk around with their heads held high and be proud that their best made a difference.

Success comes from lots of hard work and the ability to say what did I do wrong, what did I do right and how can I help whether it be a public relations job or not!!!

I look at the successful people around me and wonder how they got to their present position or status. The one thing they all have in common is that all of them are never lazy and are always proactive.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Public Relations Inspiration”


  1. 1 Flackette April 20, 2006 at 7:18 pm

    What a great post Michael! I think that Valerie’s point is well taken. All too often PR is thought of as mere dissemination of news materials, when in reality it requires a lot more thought, creativity, and determination to be successful.

  2. 2 Michael Morton April 20, 2006 at 8:33 pm

    What I thought was so great about her post is that it is applicable to everything a person does in his or her life. It’s posts and comments like those that ignite a fire under my butt and keep me moving!

  3. 3 valorie luther April 28, 2006 at 3:00 pm

    Thank you for your comments Michael!

    Hey, as a PR professional you should think of coming out to the BusinessSmartTools.com conference featuring speakers who will talk on the new social media and its benefits to any company!! Check it out.


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





Today’s Top Posts

My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

