Cingular Goes the Way of the Dodo

It looks like it’s bye-bye for Cingular. AT&T not only plans to get rid of the Cingular name but its emblem as well. Not suprisingly, AT&T aims to replace the Cingular name and emblem with the new AT&T Wireless brand (old, humdrum AT&T logo included). Read the full story at AdAge.com.

I personally think it is a big mistake to get rid of the Cingular brand. Think about it. AT&T is about to replace a highly recognizable and hip brand with a very recognizable but old brand. When I think of AT&T, I think of land-line phones. If I were trying to launch a new wireless service, the last thing I would do is replace the newer brand with an old one that my grandparents know.

Apparently, I am not the only one who thinks so. In an informal survey, over 80% of respondents think that AT&T is making a mistake by ditching the Cingular name.

Tags: , , ,

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

