Shorter Email Marketing Wins

I came across an interesting bit of information over at iMediaConnection.com.

The study shows that email messages that promote only one product or service generate more sales than emails that promote multiple products and services. This is not surprising to me at all. In an earlier post, I highlighted the fact that one of the biggest complaints about business-to-business websites is their overabundance of information. Such an overabundance turns off potential customers. As the study says, “It is logical that the same [an overabundance of information] would apply to emails.”

The findings of this study can also be applied to company newsletters. Instead of overloading a newsletter with five or more articles, focus on the three most important articles/topics and only publish those three. Some marketing professionals believe that you must have a lot to say in a newsletter. I disagree. You can have little to say in a newsletter, just make sure whatever it is you do say is important.

In closing, I believe the study reflects the busy lives of people today. In today’s instant information age, we no longer have the patience to wade through large chunks of information. Our marketing techniques should incorporate that fact.

Check out the full study here.

Tags: , , ,

1 Response to “Shorter Email Marketing Wins”


  1. 1 Jason Anderson December 7, 2007 at 8:50 am

    I have to agree that shorter email messages are more effective.

    Not so much from extensive research but simply from my own findings. It seems that I receive a higher response when I post teaser questions that lead to a blog post. Or I may post a video and send my subscribers to watch instead of read.

    Also, when I send out a promotion, I never promote anything else in that email message. This is not the place to “shotgun” your offers.

    I used to do this with the thinking that “hey, if my subscribers don’t like what I’m selling, maybey they will click on another offer that they are interested it.” Well…this actually lead to more people unsubscribing from my list than actual sales made. In my experience it was a bad move. I don’t do it any more.

    However, I subscribe to a LOT of marketing lists and I see that at least 70& of the email I receive has multiple offers for multiple products and services in the same email….

    So, maybe my theory doesn’t hold water. Maybe my offers weren’t strong enough or the messages weren’t compelling enough to entice a click. Who knows? All I know is that when I send out a mailing with a single offer, I get less unsubscribes and more sales or sign-ups. So to me, that’s proof enough.


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

