Schwag + Guerrilla Marketing = Sales

I finally received my Macbook last week. It is my very first Mac purchase (I don’t even own an iPod). Let me assure you, my new Mac is sweet! But this post focuses on Apple’s effective, yet amazingly simple, guerrilla marketing tactic. Let me explain…

With the giddiness of a eight year old on Christmas day, I opened the box that contained my new Macbook. After ogling my Macbook I noticed a pair of white stickers that came in the box. These stickers were of the Apple logo. Like myself, you’ve undoubtedly seen the very same sticker on the back windshield of various cars. The Apple stickers are very noticeable, given their unique shape, and have always drawn my attention.

I always thought to myself that the people who sported the sticker on their car belonged to some exclusive club of Mac zealots. To my knowledge, Mac loyalists have always been proud of their uniqueness among this nation of PC users. I just assumed they went out and bought the stickers from their local Apple store. But apparently Apple ships a pair of free stickers with every computer, maybe even every iPod.

What a great marketing tactic! Capitalize on the fact that your customers are, for the most part, die-hard loyalists. Send them free schwag so they can personalize their car. Which, in turn, promotes your brand by getting it in front of hundreds, if not thousands, of people. Genius!

Schwag and Guerrilla marketing really do work… I’m living proof!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Schwag + Guerrilla Marketing = Sales”


  1. 1 Yasser June 20, 2006 at 3:21 am

    Apple has always had a strong brainding concept but I personally have never bought a mac

  2. 2 Michael Morton June 20, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    Yes, Apple’s branding and marketing strategy are very strong and working well. I believe Steve Jobs is to thank for that.

    You should buy a Mac. I am extremely pleased with my recent purchase.

    Look at that… That’s word-of-mouth marketing at work people!

  3. 3 Flackette June 21, 2006 at 5:05 pm

    I have been wanting to buy a Mac for a long time…however, common sense compels me to keep using my Dell Inspiron until it finally peters out. When that happens I’ll be rushing over to the nearest Mac store.

    Now all you need to finalize your conversion is an iPod, Michael!


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions






