The Importance of an Online Press Kit

I believe every business website should contain an online press kit (others may call it a media kit). What is an online press kit? It’s a simple webpage that gives reporters detailed information about your company, as well as any elements they may need to publish a story about the company.

Why is it so important to have an online press kit? It’s simple, reporters want information as soon as possible. It is much faster for a reporter if they can access your company’s information online instead of having to wait for a press kit to arrive via overnight mail. Having a press kit available online increases your company’s chances of being publicized in the news. But that is not the only reason to have an online press kit. An online press kit lends a feeling of credibility and importance to prospective clients/customers. Thus, an online press kit helps generate revenue.

Having said that, I need to emphasize the significance of the accessibility of the press kit. Ideally, the press kit should be highly visible and accessible from the company homepage. At the very least there should be a link to the press kit on the “About” page.

Later this week, I’ll post about the different elements an online press kit should contain.

Tags: , , ,

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

