Perfectly Good Email Campaign Found Dead: Too Many Clicks Fingered As Suspect

I received a promotional email from Apple today. Even though the email was well designed and contained engaging text, it still failed to get me to take the intended action. Why? Too many clicks, that’s why.

I admit that I am a fan of Apple products. As such, I will usually open and read every email they send my way. But with this particular campaign, Apple complicated the entire process by requiring me to jump through too many hoops.

Here’s What Happened:

The main action the email asked me to take was to click on a link to “get the facts about a Mac.” I thought this was a simple enough action to take, so I clicked the link. Clicking the link took me to a screen that required me to identify my university. This was unexpected; I thought I was going to get the facts about a Mac. A side note: This is where my frustration overcame my curiosity and I closed the email. I later came back to the email and went through the entire process only to write this post.

I complied with the request to identify my university. After entering my state and city name and then highlighting my university, I clicked the “Continue” button. Now I was finally ready to see some Mac facts, right?

Wrong.

Instead, I was given yet another screen. This time it was a shopping agreement form. After reading the small text, I clicked the “Agree” button.

Eureka! I had finally arrived at the Mac facts page.

So how many clicks did it take to reach the facts page? It took a total of five clicks and three different web pages. That’s a huge marketing no-no in my book!

What Should Have Happened:

I should have arrived at the facts page with only one click. Apple should have saved the other clicks (those asking for university information and the shopping agreement) after the facts page – when the email recipients have been given the benefits of a Mac and are more likely to buy.

If an Apple enthusiast, like myself, is unwilling to jump through all those hoops, would someone unfamiliar with Apple go through the trouble? I think not.

Tags: , , ,

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions






