Advertising Is Not Dead

Last week, Piaras Kelly posted about advertising and how it has not died. Here are my thoughts on the subject…

Advertising is not dead. In fact it is far from dead.

People who claim, “companies should dump their current advertising strategies and turn to YouTube et al,” are only looking at one or two industries. There are many industries where such strategies would simply not work because their target audience is not tech savvy and they do not visit sites like YouTube.

It concerns me that there are professionals out there who think that simply sticking a video on YouTube will generate leads. Many of the same marketers also claim advertising is dead because of the Web 2.0 movement. Maybe it isn’t advertising that is dying, maybe it’s just good marketing know-how that’s fading…

Piaras does claim that advertising is becoming less effective and to a certain extent I agree with him.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Advertising Is Not Dead”


  1. 1 Piaras Kelly July 28, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    Less effective in that theres much more of it and as a result harder to achieve the same cutthrough. All though I would put a lot of this down to our brain’s ability to cope with all the information.

  2. 2 Michael Morton July 28, 2006 at 7:30 pm

    I agree Piaras!

    The hugh volume of advertisements that pummel our senses causes us to become more desensitized. As a result, ads have to be reran again and again to generate some kind of effect. It’s a vicious cycle…


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





Today’s Top Posts

My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

