Becoming a Strategic Marketer

I have finally stepped up in my career from basic marketing lackey (do what you’re told) to the strategist.

Last week I attended an offsite meeting with my direct boss, the VP, and three web programmers. The purpose of the meeting was to outline the strategy for my department and service for the next three to five years. What an amazing experience! Conducting the meeting offsite in a comfortable atmosphere really did open everyone’s mind. The whole meeting became a daylong brainstorming event. Ideas where bounced back and forth, building of each individual’s input, until it was a full-fledged strategy. Simply amazing!

The really great thing is that I contributed valued insight to the meeting. People looked to me for solutions. My input was heard. The VP liked many of my ideas. I totally held my own at the meeting. I find that amazing considering I’ve only been the company one month!

Perhaps I should revise my opening remark. It actually hasn’t taken me too long to reach this point in my career – only about two and a half years. I don’t think that’s too shabby. However, I still have a long way to go before I become a true marketing strategist. Right now I serve a dual role in the company. I am the head marketer (the only marketer) in my department. That means I am the strategist and the lackey. Hopefully, with some hard work, in another two and a half years I can be promoted to a managerial/strategist position.


Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

