"If you can’t measure it, it’s not worth doing!"

“If you can’t measure it, it’s not worth doing!”

I love that saying. I first heard it from my boss at my previous employer.

There’s also another saying, “More clicks equals less customers.”

I believe both sayings are absolutely true.

One of my key responsibilities at my new position is to make sure our web pages are functioning at a hundred percent. That means I have to make sure that there are no unnecessary clicks or superfluous steps in acquiring information from our website visitors. The way our website currently stands, there are many superfluous steps. A plan to correct the problem and enhance the user experience has already been created (by the web team and myself) and is currently in production. However, it will be a month or two before the pages are changed.

In the meantime, I have setup goal tracking and defined funnel navigation in my Google Analytics account for the current site. In keeping with the spirit of the saying mentioned in the title of this post, I need to know the current exit rates throughout our process. At what steps are potential customers exiting the process? How many potential customers do we lose from step one to the final step? Having the answers to these questions is very important. It will allow me to compare the numbers before the webpage changes to the numbers after the changes have been implemented. This, in turn, will allow me to see what impact the changes had on our business.

If I didn’t measure the change then I would have no clue if the changes were worth the time that the web team and I put into the project.

Like they say, “If you can’t measure it, it’s not worth doing.”

3 Responses to “"If you can’t measure it, it’s not worth doing!"”


  1. 1 Kevin Hillstrom January 17, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    If you were a retailer, and you wanted to change your shopping bags out, for ones that were more stylish, would you do that if you couldn’t possibly measure if that increased sales?

  2. 2 Michael Morton January 17, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Thanks for the comment Kevin.

    If I as the retailer, as you pointed out, “wanted to change your shopping bags out, for ones that were more stylish,” then I wouldn’t need to justify it by increased sales. I would justify it by being more stylish. And you can measure that with surveys and candid interviews.

    So the answer is, yes. I would switch shopping bags. You need to be able to measure the effectiveness of any change. But that unit of measurement doesn’t always have to be increased sales.

  3. 3 Heartburn Home Remedy April 15, 2009 at 6:27 am

    My friend on Facebook shared this link and I’m not dissapointed at all that I came here.


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

