"Networking" otherwise known as "How to Climb the Corporate Ladder"

In an effort to get to know my fellow coworkers, I have decided to establish “Tuesdays with Morton.” What is “Tuesdays with Morton?” It is simply an invite to a paid lunch with me on Tuesdays. The first “Tuesdays with Morton” was held today and I invited the two graphic designers from the broadcast division, Paul and Brian. It was exciting to get to know them better. Both of them are extremely talented. Brian was voted “Rookie of the Year” at the company Christmas party this past weekend and Paul is the Creative Director for the company.

Why do this? Like I said earlier, it’s a great way to get to know my fellow coworkers. But there is another reason. The more I network within my company, the more likely I am to foster goodwill towards myself and my department. I can also learn from those in a position of authority and I can share my knowledge and ideas with them. Hopefully, all of it will result in recognitions and promotions. And since I will be eligible for the “Rookie of the Year” award next year, maybe my networking will help me win it. Only time will tell…

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions






