How to use the company newsletter to increase leads

I wrote an article for my company’s December newsletter that increased our lead volume by 249% from the previous week! Here’s how I did it.

1) I used a catchy subject line

The title of the article was “An often overlooked budget area.” This subject is very appealing to the target market of the newsletter, people concerned about their finances.
Marketing Tip: Always use a subject that grabs the reader’s attention. It’s the first thing they see.

2) I wrote an informative article

The article I wrote was informative and detailed how the average American can save money by simply electing new health insurance options. The article did not focus on hard selling but it did focus on providing valuable information.
Marketing Tip: Give readers something they can use instead of trying to “sell” them. By giving them the information freely you help your reader which builds trust and loyalty.

3) I used a soft sell technique

At the end of the article I mentioned that our company can help aid the reader in the process outlined in the story. I then added a link to a webpage where the reader enters their information.
Marketing Tip: My experience with newsletters has taught me a soft sell will work more often than a hard sell. Tell your readers how you can help them. Don’t pummel them with a bunch of adjectives and adverbs declaring your company to be the best.

4) I added a testimonial

In conjunction with the soft sell, I added a sterling quote from one of our customers that loved our service and the amazing results he had gotten from it.
Marketing Tip: I’m not sure there is anything better than a customer quote to relieve a potential customer’s uncertainty. Use quotes to help the soft sell.

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions






