The Good & Bad about Goals

So today I have devoted most of my time to research and goal setting for the 2007 year.

I have three main goals for this year.

  1. Launch Marketing for our Real Estate department
  2. Rejuvenate Investment & Real Estate Resource Centers
  3. Generate a 30% referral increase


The goals scare me…
All three goals are big and will be difficult to achieve. They require me to produce a library of marketing materials and create interesting/informative content to use on our resource center pages. These are no easy tasks!

But the goals also excite me…
Reaching these goals has the ability to generate a ton of revenue, which makes me look good to my employer!

That’s the good and bad about setting goals
The scare you when you set them especially if they are lofty goals. But the amazing benefit of reaching them motivates me to attack them with everything I’ve got.

Don’t let fear take hold of you when you’re setting your goals. If you do, you risk setting your goal to short (resulting in fewer benefits if your reach them) or not setting any goals at all.

Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

