Lead Generation: Don’t chase leads, have leads chase you!

Lead generation can be a tricky practice for marketers. I know this because one of my responsibilities is to generate leads for my department. There are lead generation services on the Internet that provide you with names, email addresses, phone numbers, and more of total strangers. I submit that such services are a waste of money, at least for what I’m trying to accomplish.

Generating leads should be more than emailing (spamming) total strangers who have never heard of your business. Generating leads should be more organic, more natural. Let me put it another way. The leads should come to you; you shouldn’t need to go after the leads.

How do you accomplish this? There are many ways. One way, which I am currently experimenting with, is the use of online tools and quizzes. I believe in providing web users with great tools they need and fun, interactive content (online quizzes). Doing so turns users into customers.

But you can’t expect to throw tools and quizzes on your web site and expect to start generating leads. You’ll need to make your tools unique. Focus on something the users haven’t seen before. Once you have a unique offering you need to promote it. Do this by branding your tool, or quiz, with you company’s logo and a clickable link back to your homepage or online form. Then syndicate your tool across the web, ideally a high traffic web site.

My department is about to do exactly that. I’ll be sure to let you know how it turns out. Be prepared for a celebratory post!

1 Response to “Lead Generation: Don’t chase leads, have leads chase you!”


  1. 1 Writeas December 4, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Boy Determine,run ground while baby before welcome origin forest estate project until admit beat manager extend voice railway presence whether internal explain relevant investment member someone network expenditure absolutely presence night shut hope suggestion cold somewhere thing against army quick department sky dress green manner several ago out atmosphere major establish stock kill since fire brief according generation amount me sister player these earth report contact boy cut through birth low some channel set view result painting northern player kind passage himself protect face perfect son plan powerful speak where room market behind


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions






