A Video Game Commercial Finally Done Right

Usually, I can’t stand to watch TV commercials for video games. The reason being that most video game commercials just show off CG cut scenes and don’t really explain what the game is about, what makes the game special, or let alone why you should drop $50 to buy it. Like I said, most commercials for video games follow this same pattern. Few rarely standout. But the commercial for Gears of War is different.

I saw this commercial months ago on TV and was instantly blown away by it. I have never seen any commercial like it — at least for a video game. There is no talking or voice over. In fact, there aren’t any sound effects. There’s just the video and an eerily appropriate music track.

Yep, this commercial definitely stands out in the best way possible. Want proof? This particular video has been viewed over 322,000 times online.

Hey advertising agencies. Let’s see some creativity that gives us better commercials like this one that makes us want to go out and drop $50 on a video game!

2 Responses to “A Video Game Commercial Finally Done Right”


  1. 1 Katie April 10, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    I think the effectiveness of the game’s advertisement stems from the unusual pairing of the action packed animation and its more subdued musical accompaniment. “Mad Mad World” is a good melancholy song, but what I find it gives the game is a more disparaging tone.
    It’s a nice change from the adrenaline pumping “kick butt and triumph” video game advertisements!

  2. 2 Michael Morton April 10, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Exactly Katie!

    It is a “nice change” which is why I believe it is so successful.


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

