7 Steps to Eliminate Embarrassing Writing Mistakes

Woman TypingMy fellow marketers, always double check your work. This should be common sense for those of us who’ve been in the business for a few years. But for the newcomers and students, here is an almost foolproof way to ensure that nothing embarrassing gets published. Heck, even some of us who do have a few years of experience would do well to remember these 7 steps.

  1. Use spell check (some people actually forget to use it)
  2. Read over your work
  3. Re-read your work
  4. Wait 24 hours and read your work again (a fresh set of eyes can do wonders)
  5. Get a co-worker to read your work (this is the most important step)
  6. Get another co-worker to read your work (the 2nd most important step)
  7. Read your work one final time before publishing
4 Responses to “7 Steps to Eliminate Embarrassing Writing Mistakes”


  1. 1 communicateit April 12, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Grate tips! These arr god ideeas. 🙂

  2. 2 Michael Morton April 12, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Hmm, maybe we should printout these 7 tips and give them sales department… 🙂

  3. 3 Doane April 16, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read one of my own blog posts after 24 hours and found the wrong use of “there”, “their” or “they’re”.

  4. 4 Michael April 16, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Doane,

    I feel your pain and shame. I think most bloggers have seen a typo in their published posts.


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

