8 Successful Habits

Daniel over at Just Communicate “tagged” me. The meme is a list of habits that you feel have made you successful. Now it’s time for me to share the habits that I believe make me successful. I strongly believe anyone can adopt these habits. They have served me well. So without further adieu, my successful habits…

  1. Faith in God – The good book tells us that everything works to the glory of God. It also says that God rewards those who are faithful to him. I believe that. Everyday I believe that.
  2. Turning to friends & family – I would not be where I am today if it weren’t for two amazing parents (who sacrificed a lot to help their son) and the support of my friends. Thanks guys.
  3. Finding good mentors – Everyone needs at least one good role model. I’ve been lucky enough to have a few. From my personal friend whose the senior manager of international operations at FedEx to some of my current co-workers.
  4. I read – A good business man told me that “Leaders are Readers.” Makes since to me. Successful people continuously educate themselves by reading business books, magazines, and articles. I make sure to read business and marketing articles everyday.
  5. I blog – I find that blogging has helped make me a critical thinker. It also makes me an avid reader, which helps with my previous point.
  6. I take business seriously – When it’s time to work, I work. When there’s a deadline, I make sure me and my team make it — even if it means staying at work when everyone else has gone home. My employer pays me to make things happen; I make sure that they do happen.
  7. But not too seriously – It’s important to keep work at work. I make it a point to leave any work-related stress at the office.
  8. I play – All work and no play makes Michael a dull boy. Ask any of my friends, I play… hard. I like to rock climb, hike, swim, and socialize. I reserve my weekends for play. It’s how I re-energize for the next work week.
2 Responses to “8 Successful Habits”


  1. 1 Kevin Dugan April 24, 2007 at 7:55 am

    It’s refreshing to see your first two tips on a Marketing blog. Perhaps it’s too refreshing. Thanks for sharing.

  2. 2 Michael Morton April 24, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Thanks for the compliment Kevin, I think… Although, I’m not sure what you mean by “too refreshing.” I have got to give credit where credit is due. That means acknowledging the areas where I know God and my family have stepped in and helped me.

    That may be too refreshing for some, but it’s the truth non-the-less.

    By the way, I’m super-psyched that you commented on my blog! I am a fan of yours!


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions






