No more landing pages!

I thought landing pages were fairly effective, in fact necessary. But the movement “No More Landing Pages” claim that they are a black eye on the whole web experience. They claim that landing pages are inherently broken; that it’s a case of the tail wagging the dog. In short, they suck.

Their suggest using landing experiences. Don’t use a single web page that contains several link choices and paragraphs of text. Instead, give the user very little text and only 2 to 3 link choices. Basically, break up one convoluted page into 3 or 4 extremely easy to understand steps. They believe that a single page can be more complicated than an experience that requires multiple clicks; users are willing to click but not willing to read in-depth and think.

I have to admit that their counter-intuitive approach makes a lot of sense. You can bet I’ll be testing this idea soon.

On a side note, the marketing strategy to build buzz for “No More Landing Pages” is very effective. I’ll post about their strategy later this week.

1 Response to “No more landing pages!”



  1. 1 Turn your campaign into a crusade « Marketing Monster Trackback on May 1, 2007 at 10:47 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

