A note on word-of-mouth promotion

Word-of-mouth promotion is a powerful thing. These days in order to generate positive word-of-mouth for your product, it must be exceptional. As Seth Godin puts it, it must be a purple cow.

Nintendo understands this.

I purchased a Wii last week, which is unusual for me because I hardly play videogames – I just don’t have the time. So why did I buy it? I threw down $250 because of positive word-of-mouth. I have heard so many great things about the system from friends and coworkers. They kept told me how much fun they (grown adults) and their kids were having. They were right.

The Wii is really fun! We’re not just talking about playing games. The Wii lets you surf the web, read blogs, and watch online videos from your TV.

And Nintendo is making a killing. It’s almost impossible to find a Wii on store shelves because everyone is buying them. Nintendo has propelled itself to the forefront of the console market ahead of Sony and Microsoft. But how did they accomplish this?

The answer is they focused on creating a purple cow; a product that’s so unique and fun that it essentially markets itself through positive word-of-mouth.

3 Responses to “A note on word-of-mouth promotion”


  1. 1 4rest May 8, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    I love my Wii. I couldn’t believe that my wife actually started the conversation on getting one. Even my in-laws and friends who don’t like video games want to play just out of curiosity.

  2. 2 Dan Schawbel May 10, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Positive word of mouth is very effective, especially when it is linked to someone you respect and someone whose opinion you value!

  3. 3 Michael May 10, 2007 at 9:37 am

    Good point Dan. That’s exactly what makes a word-of-mouth campaign that targets thought leaders in a community very effective.

    Target the thought leader, convert him to a brand evangelist, and watch tide turn in your favor!


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





Today’s Top Posts

My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

