What marketing is not…

Some people just do not know marketing. They think they know but they really don’t. Take one of our clients. He called our office and said he wanted to do some marketing. He said he wants permission to use our logo on some materials he plans to hand out to his cutomers.

My response: “Sure. What are the materials?”
His response: “Office pens and nightlights.”
Me: “Nightlights?”
Him: “Yeah, nightlights… for the kids.”
Me: …long pause…

For the record, I work for an Internet business referral company. Why a nightlight? When will people learn that marketing is more than just simply putting a logo on anything and everything. Putting a logo on a pen is not marketing – it’s simply putting a logo on a pen.

I denied his request for a nightlight.

14 Responses to “What marketing is not…”


  1. 1 B-Dubs August 9, 2007 at 10:45 am

    A Nightlight?!? Brilliant! Then the logo could be blasted on the opposite wall like the Bat Signal…. wait hold on a sec…

    What… The logo would be backwards?!?

    We’ll that’s not gonna work then….

    How about… Pillowcases! Yes then our logo is the last thing you see before you go to bed!

  2. 2 communicateit August 9, 2007 at 10:52 am

    You mean you’ve never gotten up in the middle of the night to use the restroom and been inspired by your night light to get on the internet and become a lead for somebody?

  3. 3 Michael August 9, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Good one!

    One reason why I like you guy; you both have a witty sense of humor!

  4. 4 Hampton August 14, 2007 at 8:06 am

    Hold on. . .while it’s an easy target to dog this guy a little, I would ask this. How many clients do you have? How many are currently taking the time to think of ways to utilize your company’s logo? I would bet not many. So let’s give the guy props for even trying. Secondly, is it really that terrible of an idea? Granted it’s not great but for those of us with kids? They use nightlights and while it’s not going to get him any new business, it would probably make an existing client appreciate his thoughtfulness and creativity. It’s not a pen. It’s a nightlight. It’s not that bad of an idea.

    While I agree it’s not marketing. . .what does it hurt?

  5. 5 ben4rest August 14, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    I lean on the side of Hampton on this one. When people hand out promotional items such as pens, I only take notice of what is on that item initially. After that, I just see a pen and not what is advertised on it. I have tons of pens.

    If you hand me a nightlight, I’m not going to forget it. Do you know why? Because you are the only one to have ever given me a nightlight. Then, in the blink of an eye, every time I see a nightlight, I will think “remember the guy that gave me a night light with [logo] on it?”

    Test it on yourself, next time you see a nightlight you’ll remember this conversation.

    Nightlights – it’s a bright idea!

  6. 6 Kanuj August 23, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Great posts and great blog. Its interesting to read the blog posts which truly give an insight into the marketing world. I am from the Queen’s School of Business and while searching for some content for my marketing course reached your website.

    Keep up the good work!

  7. 7 Michael August 23, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Thanks for the kind comment Kanuj! I hope you keep returning!

  8. 8 Iso27001 March 4, 2013 at 5:26 am

    Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, what a information! existing here at this webpage, thanks admin of this website.

  9. 9 fast cash payday March 13, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive
    a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.

    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  10. 10 best price loans April 17, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog
    like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% certain. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks

  11. 11 the best loan deals April 17, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    At this time I am going to do my breakfast, once having my breakfast coming over again to read
    further news.

  12. 12 best homeowner loans April 17, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    I’m not sure exactly why but this web-site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check
    back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  13. 13 best Small loans April 18, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    Thankfulness to my father who informed me on the topic of this web site,
    this webpage is really awesome.

  14. 14 best loans on the market April 19, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    Now then from Scotland! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my galaxy during my afternoon break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using
    WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, excellent site!


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions





My Life Outside of Marketing

More Photos

