Web marketing concepts: part 11

11. Think message not hype

What message are you delivering to your online visitors? Are you telling them you’ve got the best product, at the best price, with the best staff, and world-class customer service? Is that what you saying? Guess what? Nobody cares, because nobody believes you.

There is only one way to show people you’re the best and that is to prove it; but here’s the catch, you can’t prove it until they become customers. Whoops.

OK, so what’s the solution? How about a real marketing message that speaks to what your audience really wants. It’s not about you, it’s about them.

Courtesy of Jerry Bader 

3 Responses to “Web marketing concepts: part 11”


  1. 1 ben4rest December 11, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    I think Joe Calloway in his book “Work Like You’re Showing Off” talks about his experience in a hotel where all the signs said “We’re better than our competition.”

    Naturally, he said his entire visit was consumed with thoughts on how they were not actually better than their competition.

  2. 2 Hampton December 11, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    I agree to an extent but “best price” and “best service” do matter to me when buying a product so that does give me what I want. The problem is when you say that but your website makes me think that your not reliable. I don’t feel confident in using your site b/c of lack of quality or whatever. However, if your site looks great, professional and secure. Then telling me you have the “best price” and “best service” absolutely matters.

  3. 3 Michael December 12, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Both very good points guys.


Comments are currently closed.



Who am I ?

My name is Michael Morton. I believe in bringing energy and professionalism into the office, that knowledge is power, that leadership trumps management, that customers are more influential than advertisements, that content is king, and that two heads are better than one. I currently lead the marketing efforts of the Strategic Alliances department of my company. Let’s talk marketing!

Blog Recognitions






